German Corporate Governance Code


Home
News
Code
Members
Declarations of
Conformity
(Link)
Archive
Contact


deutsch (Vollversion)




German Corporate Governance Code

The Government Commission*appointed by the German Federal Minister of Justice in September 2001 adopted the German Corporate Governance Code on February 26, 2002.

Through the declaration of conformity pursuant to Article 161 of the Stock Corporation Act (AktG) as amended by the Transparency and Disclosure Law, entered into force on July 26, 2002, the Code has a legal basis. The Code is published in its latest version in the official section of the Federal Gazette at www.bundesanzeiger.de. For 2002 the transitional provision under Article 15 of the introductory act to the Stock Corporation Act (EGAktG) also has to be observed.

The latest version of the Code is published on this internet page. This version includes the amendments resolved at the plenary meeting on May 13, 2013, since the amended version has been also published in the Federal Gazette.

The aim of the German Corporate Governance Code is to make Germany’s corporate governance rules transparent for both national and international investors, thus strengthening confidence in the management of German corporations. The Code addresses all major criticisms – especially from the international community – leveled against German corporate governance, namely

  • inadequate focus on shareholder interests;
  • the two-tier system of executive board and supervisory board;
  • inadequate transparency of German corporate governance;
  • inadequate independence of German supervisory boards;
  • limited independence of financial statement auditors.

Each of these five points is addressed in the provisions and stipulations of the Code, also taking into consideration the legal framework. Of course the Code cannot cover every detail of every single issue, instead it provides a framework which the individual companies will have to fill in.

The Government Commission on the German Corporate Governance Code will remain in existence after the Code has been handed over. It will observe the development of corporate governance in legislation and practice and will review the Code at least once a year for possible adaptation. Please send your comments and proposals to the office of the Government Commission on the German Corporate Governance Code at the following address:

Email: regierungskommission-dcgk@dai.de
or
by mail:

Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex
c/o Deutsches Aktieninstitut e.V.
Niedenau 13-19
60325 Frankfurt am Main
or
by fax:
 
+49 69 92915-13

 

Media contact:

  CCounselors
Peter Dietlmaier
Email: peter.dietlmaier@ccounselors.com
Phone:  +49 211 210738 0





* Members:
Dr. Dr. h.c. Manfred Gentz (Chairman), Prof. Dr. Dr. Ann-Kristin Achleitner, Prof. Dr. Theodor Baums, Dr. Joachim Faber, Dr. Hans-Friedrich Gelhausen, Dietmar Hexel, Ulrich Hocker, Dr. Thomas Kremer, Dr.-Ing. Michael Mertin, Dr. Stefan Schulte, Christian Strenger, Daniela Weber-Rey, Prof. Dr. Beatrice Weder di Mauro, Prof. Dr. Axel von Werder.

Copyright 2002 German Corporate Governance Code

Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex


Home
News
Kodex
Mitglieder
Entsprechens-
erklärungen
(Links)
Archiv
Kontakt


English (full version)




Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex

Die von der Bundesministerin für Justiz im September 2001 eingesetzte Regierungskommission* hat am 26. Februar 2002 den Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex verabschiedet.

Der Kodex besitzt über die Entsprechenserklärung gemäß § 161 AktG (eingefügt durch das Transparenz- und Publizitätsgesetz, in Kraft getreten am 26. Juli 2002) eine gesetzliche Grundlage. Er ist im amtlichen Teil des Bundesanzeigers in der für die Erklärung nach § 161 AktG maßgeblichen Fassung bekannt gemacht. Dabei ist für das Jahr 2002 zudem die Übergangsregelung gemäß § 15 EGAktG zu beachten.

Auf dieser Internetseite ist der Kodex in seiner aktuellen Fassung veröffentlicht. Berücksichtigt sind die in der Plenarsitzung am 13. Mai 2013 beschlossenen Änderungen. Die Bekanntmachung der geänderten Fassung im Bundesanzeiger ist am 10. Juni 2013 erfolgt.

Mit dem Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex sollen die in Deutschland geltenden Regeln für Unternehmensleitung und –überwachung für nationale wie internationale Investoren transparent gemacht werden, um so das Vertrauen in die Unternehmensführung deutscher Gesellschaften zu stärken. Der Kodex adressiert alle wesentlichen – vor allem internationalen - Kritikpunkte an der deutschen Unternehmensverfassung, nämlich

  • mangelhafte Ausrichtung auf Aktionärsinteressen;
  • die duale Unternehmensverfassung mit Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat;
  • mangelnde Transparenz deutscher Unternehmensführung;
  • mangelnde Unabhängigkeit deutscher Aufsichtsräte;
  • eingeschränkte Unabhängigkeit der Abschlussprüfer.

Die Bestimmungen und Regelungen des Kodex gehen auf jeden einzelnen dieser Kritikpunkte ein und berücksichtigen dabei die gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen. Der Kodex kann selbstverständlich nicht jedes Thema in allen Einzelheiten regeln, sondern gibt einen Rahmen vor, der von den Unternehmen auszufüllen sein wird.

Die Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex bleibt auch nach der Bekanntmachung des Kodex bestehen. Sie wird die Entwicklung von Corporate Governance in Gesetzgebung und Praxis verfolgen und mindestens einmal jährlich prüfen, ob der Kodex angepasst werden soll.

Stellungnahmen und Anregungen zum Kodex werden an die Geschäftsstelle der Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex unter

E-Mail: regierungskommission-dcgk@dai.de
oder
schriftlich:
 
Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex
c/o Deutsches Aktieninstitut e.V.
Niedenau 13-19
60325 Frankfurt am Main
oder
per Telefax:
 
+49 69 92915-13


erbeten.

 

Medienkontakt:

  CCounselors
Peter Dietlmaier
E-Mail: peter.dietlmaier@ccounselors.com
Telefon:  +49 211 210738 0




* Mitglieder:
Dr. Dr. h.c. Manfred Gentz (Vorsitzender), Prof. Dr. Dr. Ann-Kristin Achleitner, Prof. Dr. Theodor Baums, Dr. Joachim Faber, Dr. Hans-Friedrich Gelhausen, Dietmar Hexel, Ulrich Hocker, Dr. Thomas Kremer, Dr.-Ing. Michael Mertin, Dr. Stefan Schulte, Christian Strenger, Daniela Weber-Rey, Prof. Dr. Beatrice Weder di Mauro, Prof. Dr. Axel von Werder.

Copyright 2002 Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex